First NIBA Young Broker Award finalists confirmed

Some of the nation’s most talented rising stars have been announced as regional finalists in the 2016 NIBA Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero.

Judging has taken place in the VIC/TAS; SA/NT and NSW/ACT regions, with the confirmed finalists so far being:


  • Olivia Googh, Willis Towers Watson
  • Noel Kelly, Austbrokers AEI Transport
  • David McDonald, Arthur J. Gallagher


  • Josh McDonald, Brecknock Insurance Brokers
  • Katie Stephenson, Arthur J. Gallagher, Darwin
  • Daniela Zaccone, Willis Towers Watson


  • Todd Arnold, Roderick Insurance Brokers
  • Nick Daffy, Arthur J. Gallagher
  • Aaron Sparkes, Aon

The winner of the VIC/TAS award is set to be announced at the NIBA VIC Underwriting Expo Lunch in Melbourne at the end of May. All other regional winners of both the Broker and Young Broker of the Year Awards will be announced at NIBA gala events in July.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth praised the quality of this year’s NIBA Young Broker award nominees. “The standard of applications we received for these awards from young brokers right across Australia was top class,” he said.

“We congratulate all the finalists, but even those applicants who just missed out have every reason to be very proud of their applications, and we hope that being nominated and taking part in this process was a reminder to them of the great work they’re putting in on behalf of their clients every day.”

Five regional winners of the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award go on to contest the national Warren Tickle Memorial Award, sponsored by Vero, which is announced at the NIBA Convention in Melbourne this September. The current holder is Luke Chrzanowski of Tresidder Insurance Group in VIC.