NIBA The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has revealed the Vic/Tas regional winners of two awards which recognise excellence in the insurance broking profession.

John Farrell of Steadfast Taswide Insurance Brokers, claimed the Broker of the Year Award; while Adam Ware of BJS Insurance Brokers (Gippsland) Pty Ltd, claimed the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. The two now go on to contest national awards, to be announced in September.

John Farrell

John Farrell

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth congratulated the winners of the Vic/Tas awards, adding: “We wish John and Adam the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry.”

“We had a significant number of applications this year, and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

QBE Regional Manager for Victoria & Tasmania, James McCauley said: “Congratulations to John as the Vic/Tas Broker of the Year winner, his passion for his customers and the wider Steadfast Taswide business clearly shone through the judging process.

Adam Ware

Adam Ware

“QBE is incredibly proud to be supporting the Stephen Ball Memorial Award and working with NIBA to recognise and celebrate the commitment and professionalism of intermediaries in our industry. Again, this year, the calibre of entries demonstrates the continual development and professionalism of our broker partners and we’re delighted to work with them to deliver great outcomes for our customers.”

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

Anthony Pagano, Head of Commercial Intermediaries, Vero, said: “Adam has demonstrated the very best qualities of insurance brokers and should be proud of this recognition so far. He should be congratulated for his professionalism and dedication to his customers.

“It’s critical that the industry supports and encourages the next generation of leaders in insurance broking, so that the profession will continue to deliver great outcomes for customers. For this reason, Vero has been a proud supporter of NIBA’s Young Professionals and the Warren Tickle Memorial Award for more than two decades.”

This year’s award runners-up were: Ben Gair, Australian General Insurance Services and Ben Robinson, Arthur J. Gallagher

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five regional winners of each award and announced at NIBA’s National Convention in Sydney on Monday 11 September.

The four other regional NIBA award winners in each award will be announced at gala events across Australia.