Assistance for NSW bushfire affected communities

The government has announced disaster assistance for bushfires that affected Kempsey, Tenterfield and the Lower Hunter area of New South Wales on 5 November 2016.

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan said the assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

“The Australian and New South Wales governments are committed to working together to ensure disaster affected communities receive the necessary support to help them recover,” Keenan said.

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant said seven local government areas would receive support under the NDRRA as part of today’s announcement.

“Assistance is now available in Cessnock, Dungog, Kempsey, Maitland, Mid Coast, Tenterfield and Port Stephens to help these communities with the cost of recovery,” Grant said.

Assistance available under the NDRRA may include:

  • personal hardship and distress assistance for families and individuals to help with emergency needs such as food, clothing and accommodation,
  • financial assistance for local and state government authorities to undertake counter-disaster operations and to restore damaged public infrastructure,
  • concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and not-for-profit organisations who have been directly impacted,
  • freight subsidies for primary producers, and
  • grants to eligible non-profit organisations.

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website and the New South Wales emergency information and response website.