Congratulations to NIBA award finalists

NIBA is pleased to announce the finalists of the QBE sponsored NIBA Broker of the Year and VERO sponsored Young Professional Broker of the Year awards.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth says: “Congratulations to all our finalists – it is always a tough call as the calibre of insurance brokers nominated gets higher every year. We wish all finalists the best of luck in the national awards.”

Long-time sponsor of the Young Broker of the Year award Vero says it is important to encourage the next generation of leaders. Head of Commercial Intermediaries Anthony Pagano says: “All the state finalists have demonstrated the very best qualities of insurance brokers and should be proud of their recognition so far. They should be congratulated for their professionalism and dedication to their customers.”

So, without further ado, our finalists are:

Broker of the Year:


  • James Dunk, Dunk Insurance
  • Ron Tomsic, Marsh
  • Michael Whyte, Marsh


  • Lisa Carter, Clear Insurance
  • Shane Flower, Pro-Insure
  • Maria Newman, Marsh


  • Brett Hagan, Insurance Risk Solutions
  • Kelly Keast, Holdfast Insurance Brokers
  • Joanne Tutton, Aon


  • Hayden Armstrong, Armstrong’s Insurance Brokers
  • John Farrell, Steadfast Taswide Insurance Brokers


  • Brett Piggott, Willis Temby Insurance Brokers
  • Jody Williams, Oracle Group

Young Professional Broker of the Year:


  • Stephen Allan, GSA
  • James Harmer, JLT
  • Tim Richmond, Oxley Insurance Brokers


  • Stacey Lloyd, Marsh
  • Kimberley Lundberg, Insurance Aid General Brokers
  • Amy Morrison, Insurance House


  • Georgina Frost, Holdfast Insurance Brokers
  • Mitchell Sleigh, AJG
  • Karl Stephens, AJG


  • Ben Gair, Australian General Insurance Services
  • Ben Robinson, AJG
  • Adam Ware, BJS Insurance Brokers (Gippsland) Pty Ltd


  • Daniel Curnow, Centrewest
  • Paula Eggers, Marsh
  • Jamie Rigoli, JLT

Winners of the regional awards will be revealed at the gala lunches to be held around the country in May and July:

  • 26 May – Vic/Tas Gala Lunch
  • 14 July – NSW Gala Lunch
  • 19 July – Qld Gala Lunch
  • 21 July – WA Gala Lunch
  • 28 July – SA Gala Lunch

Registrations for the Vic/Tas lunch are open now. Come cheer on your colleague and see who wins the coveted state award.

The winners of the regional awards will go into the running for the national awards – the QBE-sponsored Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year. Winners of the national awards will be announced at the NIBA Convention, Monday 11 September.

Thanks for nominating

Thanks to everyone who recognised talent in the industry and for nominating a broker. Those who nominated a broker or young broker for the awards went in a draw to win a free registration to their state’s gala lunch and a $100 Myer voucher.

The winners are: Marilyn Chamberlain from Oracle Group (Australia) Pty Ltd (WA) for nominating a potential Broker of the Year and Sampath Soysa from ATC Insurance Solutions (Vic) for putting a nomination in for Young Broker of the Year.