Meet the NIBA Awards finalists from QLD

The finalists for the QLD region NIBA Broker of the Year and Young Professional Broker of the Year were announced recently and you can now get to know a little more about them.

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community.

Steven Hill from Capital Innovation Australia Pty Ltd has been a part of the industry for over 25 years and is the NIBA QLD Chairperson.

Glen Ryan from AustCover has more than 28 years of experience in insurance and has been a mentor to young professionals.


The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

Emma Busby from Gallagher’s has qualifications in broking as well as underwriting and is very active in the local business network in Townville.

Steven Purser from PSC Gordon Wilson Insurance Brokers has a Diploma in Financial Services (Insurance Broking) and is a Qualified Practicing Insurance Broker (QPIB).

Mitchell Young from TIC Insurance Brokers has had hotel and tourism management training apart from completing a Tier 1 in insurance broking.

The QLD winners will be announced at the NIBA QLD Gala Lunch on July 18 at the Royal International Convention Centre in Brisbane. Register here.

The state winners will go on to compete for the Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year, which will be awarded at the 2018 NIBA Convention in Hobart, Tasmania.