Winners of the NIBA awards have been revealed at the annual national Convention in Sydney today.

Brett Piggott of Willis Temby Insurance Brokers in WA has been picked as the winner of this year’s QBE-sponsored Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Insurance Broker of the Year. This is the first time a WA broker has won the national award.

QBE Executive General Manager – Intermediary Distribution Jason Clarke says: “On behalf of QBE, I’d like to congratulate Brett Piggott of Willis Temby Insurance Brokers on winning the 2017 Broker of the Year award. He has clearly demonstrated exceedingly high levels of commitment to clients and provides solutions for both Australian and international markets.”

“QBE recognises that our broker partners are absolutely critical to our success and we’re so proud to partner with NIBA on the Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year. We think it’s particularly fitting that this accolade bears the name of one of industry’s most well-respected and well-liked professionals.”

As part of winning the award, Piggott has also won a $20,000 travel and education prize to further his professional development.

Next, Adam Ware of BJS Insurance Brokers in Gippsland Victoria was picked as the winner of the Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year.

In congratulating Adam on his win, Sam Sanfilippo, Head of International Intermediaries, Vero says: “Brokers like Adam are the reason Vero has been proud to support the Warren Tickle Memorial Award for 27 years. Adam is a future leader of the broking profession, and we are delighted to support and nurture the next generation.

“All of this year’s impressive finalists demonstrated the best qualities of the industry: the commitment to professional development, and a dedication to high standards and excellence. The judges faced an extremely difficult decision to choose the ultimate winner.

“We hope Adam has a productive and enjoyable trip to London.”

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth says all Broker of the Year and Young Broker of the Year finalists were exceptional brokers, and the awards recognise and celebrate their hard work. “They set a benchmark for the rest of the profession.”

“Brett has set very high standards for his broking business, for his commitment to his clients, his community, and his staff.

“Adam, meanwhile, has already established himself as a very fine young insurance broking professional, who strives for the best and seeks to achieve high levels of support for his clients. He is a deserving recipient of the Young Broker of the Year award.”

“NIBA would also like to thank QBE and Vero for their sponsorship of the two awards.”

Insurer of the Year: CGU

At the same time, CGU was crowned General Insurer of the Year.

Booth congratulated CGU on the win for the third year running. “This award is determined as part of the NIBA Broker Market Survey, where nearly 1,000 brokers gave their feedback on the performance of insurers in the past 12 months. The award recognises the strong efforts CGU have put in to servicing and supporting brokers and their clients in the past year.”

Lex McKeown trophy

And last but not least, the Lex McKeown Trophy for 2017 went to Jeff Murdoch, director of Emjay Insurance Brokers.

NIBA President Tim Wedlock congratulated Jeff on receiving the award. “There could not be a more deserving recipient of the Lex McKeown trophy. Jeff is the embodiment of everything the trophy stands for – professionalism, integrity and generosity.

“Jeff is known by many in the industry for his client focus and professionalism. He is truly a trusted adviser to all his clients.

“He is passionate about the insurance broking profession and is extremely generous with this time. Jeff has been a strong supporter of the NIBA mentoring program ever since its inception. He has been a mentor to many young professionals, guiding them with their professional and personal goals and creating opportunities for them.

“Congratulations to Jeff for this amazing achievement.”