NIBA names winners of NSW/ACT broker awards

The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has revealed the NSW/ACT region winners of two awards, which recognise excellence in the insurance broking profession.

John G Duncan of JMD Ross Insurance Brokers, claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Craig Anderson of Austbrokers ABS, claimed the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. The two NSW/ACT winners will now go on to compete nationally.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth congratulated the winners of the NSW/ACT awards, adding: “We wish John and Craig the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry.”

“We had a significant number of applications this year and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

QBE Regional Manager for NSW, Christine Bell said, “Congratulations to John. The calibre of entries demonstrate the continual development of our broker partners and we’re delighted to work with them to deliver great outcomes to customers.”

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

Yusuf Alexander, State Manager for NSW/ACT, Vero, said: “Congratulations to Craig. Vero is proud to support the next generation of insurance brokers and its longstanding association with NIBA’s Young Professionals and the Warren Tickle Memorial Award.”

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five state winners and announced at NIBA’s national Convention in Hobart on Tuesday 4 September.

2018 NSW/ACT Awards

Broker of the Year

Winner: John G Duncan of JMD Ross Insurance Brokers

Finalists: David Michell from The Protectors Insurance Brokers Pty Ltd and Kirsty Teer from Aon

Young Professional Broker of the Year

Winner: Craig Anderson of Austbrokers ABS

Finalists: Diego Calefato of MBA Insurance Services Pty Ltd, Peter Gould of AIIB Pty Ltd, Arthur Hatzinikolis of Austbrokers SPT, Laura Makary of Insure Pty Ltd, Irish Peters of Aon Risk Solutions and Michael Pham of Nsure