The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has revealed the Victorian/Tasmanian region winners of two awards, which recognise excellence in the insurance broking profession.

Avi Tatarka of Scott Winton Insurance Brokers, claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Nick Daffy of PNOinsurance, claimed the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. The two Vic/Tas winners will now go on to compete nationally.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth congratulated the winners of the Vic/Tas awards, adding: “We wish Avi and Nick the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry.”

“We had a significant number of applications this year and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

QBE’s Head of Sales & Relationship Management – Vic/Tas, Commercial Lines, Danny Ravenhill, said: “On behalf of the QBE team, I’d like to congratulate this year’s Vic/Tas Broker of the Year award winner, Avi Tatarka, Scott Winton Insurance Brokers. There is an abundance of talented brokers across our region so being named a finalist and a winner is a truly outstanding achievement.

“Avi has, despite a reasonable measure of adversity, clearly demonstrated an admirable commitment to professional excellence, client advocacy, customer service and the development of not only himself but his team and the broking community.”

“Our broker partners are vital to the success of QBE, which is why we’re so proud to partner with NIBA to recognise the best brokers in the business at a regional level and nationally via the Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Insurance Broker of the Year.”

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

Megan Lewis, State Manager Vic/Tas, Vero, said: “Nick has already demonstrated he is true leader. In addition to his professional commitments, he has shown a strong commitment to ongoing professional development, mentoring his peers, and serving the community.

“Vero is proud to support the next generation of insurance brokers and its longstanding association with NIBA’s Young Professionals and the Warren Tickle Memorial Award.”

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Insurance Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five region winners and announced at NIBA’s national Convention on the Gold Coast on Monday 14 October. Super early bird convention registrations are now open:

2019 VIC/TAS Awards
Broker of the Year
Winner: Avi Tatarka, Scott Winton Insurance Brokers
Finalists: Tom Teom, EBM and Abbie Wilson, Reliance Partners Insurance Brokers.

Young Professional Broker of the Year
Winner: Nick Daffy, PNOinsurance
Finalists: Alyssa Sanfilippo, Bovill Risk & Insurance Consultants and Pat Musngi, Gallagher.