Brett Piggott from Willis Temby Insurance Brokers  and Jamie Rigoli from JLT have claimed NIBA’s WA regional Broker of the Year Award and the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. The two now go on to contest national awards, to be announced in September.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth said: “We wish Brett and Jamie the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry.

“We had a significant number of applications this year, and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

QBE Regional Manager for WA Peter McLachlan said: “Congratulations to Brett Piggott as the WA Broker of the Year winner, his passion for his customers, commitment to the sector and belief in developing young people in our industry clearly shone through the judging process.

“QBE is incredibly proud to be supporting the Stephen Ball Memorial Award and working with NIBA to recognise and celebrate the commitment and professionalism of intermediaries in our industry. Again this year, the calibre of entries demonstrates the continual development and professionalism of our broker partners and we’re delighted to work with them to deliver great outcomes for our customers.”

Jody Williams from the Oracle Group was the WA finalist for the Broker of the Year.

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

Andrew Walker, State Manager WA, Vero says: “Jamie is the embodiment of the next generation of insurance broking leaders – he left high school with aspirations of joining the profession. He has built a reputation for high standards.

“Brokers like Jamie are the reason that Vero has been a proud supporter of NIBA’s Young Professionals and the Warren Tickle Memorial Award for more than two decades.”

The Young Broker of the Year finalists were: Paula Eggers from Marsh and Daniel Curnow from Centrewest.

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five regional winners of each award and announced at NIBA’s National Convention in Sydney on Monday 11 September.