NSW/ACT NIBA award winners announced

Two more national finalists for NIBA’s Broker and Young Broker of the Year Awards are now known, following the announcement of the NSW/ACT award winners.

2016 NSW/ACT NIBA Award Winners

At the NIBA Gala Lunch in Sydney on Friday 15 July, Dunk Insurance’s John Dunk claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Noel Kelly of Austbrokers AEI Transport Pty Ltd took the Young Professional Broker of the Year title.

John Dunk is the Managing Director of Dunk Insurance, whose insurance career began 35 years ago servicing farms in West Wyalong. He has been in insurance ever since starting his own business as an Authorised Representative in 1997.

As the region’s Broker of the Year, Dunk will go on to compete for the national Stephen Ball Memorial Award, which will be announced at September’s NIBA Convention in Melbourne. The overall winner will claim a prize valued in the region of $20,000, courtesy of QBE. The QBE-sponsored Broker of the Year Award goes to an individual who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, and who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

Meanwhile, Young Broker champion Noel Kelly will now contest the national Warren Tickle Memorial Award after claiming regional honours. A previous NIBA student of the month winner, he is currently an Account Manager at Austbrokers AEI Transport, Kelly’s first exposure to insurance came as an admin assistant for National Transport Insurance in 2007.

The NSW award runners-up were Olivia Googh, Willis Towers Watson and David McDonald, Arthur J. Gallagher.

The national winner of the Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Memorial Award will also be announced at the 2016 NIBA Convention, with a tailored professional development experience valued in the region of $10,000 – which can include overseas travel – awaiting the champion. The regional NIBA award winners for the remaining regions in each award will be announced at gala events across Australia in July.