Queensland gathers to salute year’s top brokers

Queensland’s best brokers for 2014 have been named this afternoon at a NIBA lunch in Brisbane.

East West Insurance Brokers’ Greg Rynenberg has been named NIBA Queensland Broker of the Year, edging out Ray Pavey of NQIB and Sharon Pyne of Parmia. Rynenberg is now in the running for the prestigious national title.

Meanwhile, Adele May from Willis took the gong for Young Professional Broker of the Year, fending off competition from Aon’s Ben McKinnie and Jodie Kimber from North Queensland Insurance Brokers, as well as giving her a shot at the Warren Tickle Memorial Award.


Winners Greg Rynenberg and Adele May

Held at the Pullman Hotel in Brisbane, the Queensland lunch was preceded by the NIBA-UAC Queensland Underwriting Expo.

The winner of each national award will be announced at the 2014 NIBA Convention in Adelaide in September.

Sponsored by Zurich, the Broker of the Year award earns its winner a professional development prize valued at $20,000, including international travel, meetings with Zurich top brass and tickets to leading business seminars.

The winner of the Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Memorial Award will receive an exclusive all-expenses-paid working holiday to London where they will meet industry leaders and attend professional development sessions worth an estimated $10,000.

Queensland is the fourth region to have its winners announced, joiningNSW winners Tony Bourke and Adam Hines, Victorian and Tasmanian winners John Mutton and Shane Brady and SA/NT winners Tony De Conno and Cassandra Pearce.

The last pair of national finalists, from WA, will be announced on Friday.