SA/ NT region NIBA award winners announced

The final national finalists for NIBA’s Broker and Young Broker of the Year Awards are now known, following the announcement of the SA/NT region award winners.

At that NIBA Gala Lunch in Adelaide on Friday 22 July Arthur J Gallagher’s Ali Conte claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Katie Stephenson also of Arthur J Gallagher took the Young Professional Broker of the Year title.

Ali began her career with Minet Insurance in 1980, as a Broker Assistant, Ali is currently Senior Account Executive / Team Leader at Arthur J Gallagher, where she has been since 2002.

The award runners-up were Ian Furby of Aon Risk Solutions, and Greg Johnson from Arthur J Gallagher.

The QBE-sponsored Broker of the Year Award goes to an individual who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, and who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

As the region’s Broker of the Year, Conte will go on to compete for the national Stephen Ball Memorial Award, which will be announced at September’s NIBA Convention in Melbourne. The overall winner will claim a prize valued in the region of $20,000, courtesy of QBE.

Meanwhile, Young Broker champion Stephenson will now contest the national Warren Tickle Memorial Award after claiming regional honours. She is a Business Development Executive at Arthur J Gallagher and began her insurance career with Marsh Insurance Brokers in Darwin, NT.

The SA/NT award runners-up were Josh McDonald of Brecknock Insurance Brokers and Daniela Zaccone of Willis Towers Watson.

The national winner of the Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Memorial Award will also be announced at the 2016 NIBA Convention, with a tailored professional development experience valued in the region of $10,000 – which can include overseas travel – awaiting the champion.

All the four other regional NIBA award winners in each award have been announced at gala events across Australia.