Kelly Keast of Holdfast Insurance Brokers claimed the Broker of the Year Award; while Mitchell Sleigh of AJG claimed the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award during the NIBA gala lunch in Adelaide today. The two now go on to contest national awards, to be announced in September.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth said: “We wish Kelly and Mitchell the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry.

“We had a significant number of applications this year, and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

Brett Hagan from Insurance Risk Solutions and Joanne Tutton from Aon were the finalists for the award.

QBE Regional Manager for SA/NT Jenny Bax said: “Congratulations to Kelly Keast as the SA/NT Broker of the Year winner, her passion for her customers and the wider Holdfast business clearly shone through the judging process.

“QBE is incredibly proud to be supporting the Stephen Ball Memorial Award and working with NIBA to recognise and celebrate the commitment and professionalism of intermediaries in our industry. Again this year, the calibre of entries demonstrates the continual development and professionalism of our broker partners and we’re delighted to work with them to deliver great outcomes for our customers.”

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35. Karl Stephens from AJG and Georgina Frost from Holdfast Insurance Brokers were the finalists in this category.

Jim Cocks, State Manager SA/NT, Vero says: “Mitchell is a great ambassador for the insurance broking profession. He is a true advocate for his clients and a great contributor to the broader industry.

“Vero is a firm believer in nurturing the next generation of broking leaders, which is why we will continue to support young professionals like Mitchell.”

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five regional winners of each award and announced at NIBA’s National Convention in Sydney on Monday 11 September.