VIC/TAS region NIBA award winners announced

The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has revealed the Victorian/Tasmanian regional winners of two awards, which recognise excellence in the insurance broking profession.

Penelope Collins of CMIB Insurance Services, claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Leigh Moulden of Doreen Insurance Solutions Pty Ltd, claimed the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award. The two VIC/TAS winners will now go on to compete nationally.

NIBA CEO Dallas Booth congratulated the winners of the VIC/TAS awards, adding: “We wish Penelope and Leigh the best of luck in the national awards, and we congratulate all the finalists who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism and competence in the broking industry.”

“We had a significant number of applications this year and the finalists represent the cream of the crop.”

The Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by QBE, goes to an individual broker who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

QBE Regional Manager for Victoria & Tasmania, James McCauley said: “Congratulations to Penny. Her passion for customers and the wider CMIB Insurance Services, as well as her dedication to the wider community and charity work really set her apart during the judging process.”

The Young Professional Broker of the Year Award, sponsored by Vero, recognises the broking industry’s rising stars under the age of 35.

Megan Lewis, State Manager VIC/TAS, Vero, said: “Leigh is a great ambassador for the insurance broking profession. He is a true advocate for his clients and a great contributor to the broader industry.

“Vero is a firm believer in nurturing the next generation of broking leaders, which is why we will continue to support young professionals like Leigh.”

The national Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year and Warren Tickle Memorial Award for Young Professional Broker of the Year will be chosen from five regional winners and announced at NIBA’s national Convention in Hobart on Tuesday 4 September.

2018 VIC/TAS Awards:

  • Broker of the Year
    Winner: Penelope Collins, CMIB Insurance Services
    Finalists: Mark Laudrum, Ardrossan Insurance Brokers.
  • Young Professional Broker of the Year
    Winner: Leigh Moulden, Doreen Insurance Solutions Pty Ltd
    Finalists: Brett Batson, Willis Towers Watson; Travis Gauci, Gallagher; Fiona Hancock, Aon
    and James Pearson, Marsh Advantage Insurance