VIC/TAS region NIBA award winners announced

The first national finalists for NIBA’s Broker and Young Broker of the Year Awards are now known, following the announcement of the VIC/TAS region award winners.

At that NIBA Gala Lunch in Melbourne on Friday 27 May, JLT’s David Kelly claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Todd Arnold of Roderick Insurance Brokers took the Young Professional Broker of the Year title.

David Kelly

David Kelly

Kelly is the Managing Director of JLT Sport, whose insurance career began in 1985 in the mailing room of AMP Fire & General. He has been in insurance ever since, at Lowndes Lambert Australia and as a Managing Principal at Marsh, until taking up his current role in 2011.

The award runners-up were John Farrell of Steadfast Taswide, and Brett Dunlop from Adroit Insurance Group in Geelong.

The QBE-sponsored Broker of the Year Award goes to an individual who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, and who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

As the region’s Broker of the Year, Kelly will go on to compete for the national Stephen Ball Memorial Award, which will be announced at September’s NIBA Convention in Melbourne. The overall winner will claim a prize valued in the region of $20,000, courtesy of QBE.

Meanwhile, Young Broker champion Arnold will now contest the national Warren Tickle Memorial Award after claiming regional honours. A Senior Account Executive at Geelong-based Roderick Insurance Brokers, Arnold’s first exposure to insurance came as a Contact Centre Operator for Australian Associated Motor Insurers in 2007. He has also spent time with Elders Insurance and EBM prior to joining Roderick in 2014.

Todd Arnold

Todd Arnold

The VIC/TAS award runners-up were Nick Daffy of Arthur J. Gallagher and Aaron Sparkes of Aon.

The national winner of the Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Memorial Award will also be announced at the 2016 NIBA Convention, with a tailored professional development experience valued in the region of $10,000 – which can include overseas travel – awaiting the champion.

The four other regional NIBA award winners in each award will be announced at gala events across Australia in July.