WA region NIBA award winners announced

The national finalists for NIBA’s Broker and Young Broker of the Year Awards are now known, following the announcement of the WA award winners.

At that NIBA Gala Lunch in Perth on Friday 8 July, Mason Gray Insurance and Risk’s Neil Gray claimed the Broker of the Year Award, while Erica Filby of EBM took the Young Professional Broker of the Year title.

Gray is the Founding Partner and Director of Mason Gray Insurance and Risk, whose insurance career began almost 40 years ago in underwriting with two leading UK insurers. He has been in insurance ever since, as an underwriter, insurance broker, risk manager and business leader at local, regional and national levels before establishing Mason Gray Insurance and Risk in 2015.

The award runner-up was Geoff Pratt of Centrewest Insurance Brokers in Balcatta.

The QBE-sponsored Broker of the Year Award goes to an individual who is deemed an inspirational role model for the broking community, and who has demonstrated excellence in broking practice and client advocacy.

As the region’s Broker of the Year, Gray will go on to compete for the national Stephen Ball Memorial Award, which will be announced at September’s NIBA Convention in Melbourne. The overall winner will claim a prize valued in the region of $20,000, courtesy of QBE.

Meanwhile, Young Broker champion Erica will now contest the national Warren Tickle Memorial Award after claiming regional honours. A previous runner up for the WA prize last year, she is currently an Account Manager at Perth-based Corporate Team at EBM, Erica’s first exposure to insurance came as a Receptionist for Central Insurance Brokers in 2008.

The WA award runners-up were Richard Kerbey of Marsh & McLennan Agency Pty Ltd and Michael Verbunt of Bruce Insurance.

The national winner of the Vero-sponsored Warren Tickle Memorial Award will also be announced at the 2016 NIBA Convention, with a tailored professional development experience valued in the region of $10,000 – which can include overseas travel – awaiting the champion.

The regional NIBA award winners for the two remaining regions in each award will be announced at gala events across Australia in July.